Text Bigger | Text Smaller



2016 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash

It is with great sorrow that the Gascoyne Off Road Racing Club wishes to inform you that due to low confirmed entries the 2016 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash will not be held as it is not economically viable.

This decision has not been made lightly, however it does give the committee the opportunity to reinvigorate the event.

All entry fees that have been paid will be reimbursed in full. Deb will be in touch to get your bank details and confirm the amounts paid.

Rest assured that this is not the end of the Gascoyne Dash and we will have exciting news for everyone in the near future.

The Gascoyne Off Road Racing Club would like to thank everyone for their support and we look forward to growing the relationship in the years to come.

The ADVENTURE continues!

The 10th Anniversary Gascoyne Dash – Day One Report

Posted on 02.11.2013

• Brett Renton storms through the field in the auto category.
• Ben Grabham stamps his authority on the Motos.
• Logan Trigg sits inside the top ten Motos on his Quad

Day One of the 10th Anniversary Gascoyne Dash proved to be a battle of the fittest as competitors negotiated high temperatures while tackling the tough 198km loop around Bidgemia Station, near Gascoyne Junction in Western Australia. Featuring fast station tracks, climbs through the rocky Kennedy Ranges, short stints in the river and the red desert sands, the Gascoyne Dash lived up to it’s tough reputation, reminding all that “winning is something, but finishing is everything.”

Starting at 8am, Brett and Kevin Renton charged from 5th on the grid to first on Day One at the Gascoyne Dash in their #74 Jimco. Shane and Curt Elphinstone are currently second after the 198km loop in the #44 Holeshot, ahead of Dave McShane and William Kirkhope in the #811 Cross Country Tacoma. Elphinstone had started the day first on the road, but relinquished the lead in the second half of the course after a big hit dislodged some ECU wiring forcing a quick trackside repair.

#968 Brad Cooper was in the hunt for the lead until two flat tyres, one of which he had to drive to the finish on saw him end the day in fourth. Peter and Corrina Lindeboom took the Prolite honours and fifth outright. Ahead of #19 Troy and Deb Schoen in sixth who launched the South Cross skyward at the famous Lochie’s Knob leap. Rod Barton and Geoff Butler were 9th outright and the quickest Super 1650 and #766 Chris May and Paul Zano were the quickest Suzuki and topped the Production 4WD Class leaderboard. Twenty teams are recorded as finishers at the end of day one.

#49 Brodie Black led the bikes field away at 10:30am and held off a hard charging Ben Grabham through Lochie’s Knob and through to Gascoyne Junction. A quick fuel stop saw Grabham snatch the number one spot on the road on his #111 KTM and wind the throttle wide open to establish a section winning margin of 6min 36sec by the time he crossed the finish line back at the Coonatha bivouac. Brodie Black held on to second, ahead of #29 Matt Fish in third.

Logan Trigg was the leading quad home on day one of the Gascoyne Dash. He finished 9th outright in a time of 2hr 30min 20sec, ahead of #116 Richard Maxted (13th) and #921 John Iuliano (14th).

The offroad racers and riders face another 200km loop of Bidgemia Station on Sunday, with the track modified to include an exciting 50+km of river bed between the first and second checkpoints. Providing the drivers with a taste of the events signature terrain.

Stay up to date with the 2013 Gascoyne Dash via http://www.gasdash.com/ or on the facebook page www.facebook.com/pages/Gascoyne-Dash  

The Gascoyne Dash is supported by the Western Australian Government, via Eventscorp, the Department of Regional Development and Lands, and Royalties for Regions.

Media contact: DirtComp Magazine, Randall Kilner – www.dirtcomp.com.au
To view images: www.facebook.com/dirtcomp

*Results provisional at time of release

Thank Our Sponsors












Volunteers needed.

GORCC Online membership

Get the Latest News


Carnarvon Chamber of Commerce & Industry Inc

2010 and 2011 Business Awards

Best Community Organisation


Finalist 2010

2010 Shire of Carnarvon - WA Premier's Australia Day Award

Outstanding community contribution by a local group or community event