Text Bigger | Text Smaller



2016 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash

It is with great sorrow that the Gascoyne Off Road Racing Club wishes to inform you that due to low confirmed entries the 2016 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash will not be held as it is not economically viable.

This decision has not been made lightly, however it does give the committee the opportunity to reinvigorate the event.

All entry fees that have been paid will be reimbursed in full. Deb will be in touch to get your bank details and confirm the amounts paid.

Rest assured that this is not the end of the Gascoyne Dash and we will have exciting news for everyone in the near future.

The Gascoyne Off Road Racing Club would like to thank everyone for their support and we look forward to growing the relationship in the years to come.

The ADVENTURE continues!

The 10th Anniversary Gascoyne Dash – Prologue Report

Posted on 01.11.2013

• Shane Elpinstone #44 the fastest auto in his Pro buggy.
• Ben Grabham trumped by Brodie Black for pole position.
• The quads were dominated by Logan Trigg - 8th outright position during the prologue.

Prologue for the 10th Anniversary Gascoyne Dash ran like clockwork this morning, and all entrants are now traversing east towards Gascoyne Junction for the main race over the next two days.

Today’s racing was held on what is revered as the longest prologue track in Australia - a 20km course set amongst Carnarvon’s horse racing track and golf course. Prologue commenced at 8am with the two-wheeled bikes hitting the course sending plumes of fine dust into the morning breeze.

The money was on Ben Grabham riding the #111 KTM to win the prologue. However, he was upset by #49 Brodie Black, who smashed Grabham’s time by over six seconds with #378 Gavin Russell coming over the Prologue line +17.08 seconds after Black.

The quad riders were well and truly on the pace with the spoke riders during the day. The fastest quad of #229 Logan Trigg attained 8th place overall, 1min 30sec behind the quickest two wheeled counterparts. #412 Matt Sivwright slipped into second for the 4-wheelers, followed closely by #971 Dale Harris.

The auto section was well represented with nearly every offroad racing class competing. The prologue gods turned their favour to #44 Shane Elphinstone in his mid-engined V8 Holeshot, who will be first off the grid for Saturday’s racing. 2012 winner #968 Brad Cooper was an obvious favourite for this years pole position but was relegated to second position on the grid in the skatey and dusty conditions. David McShane #811 was the first Extreme 4WD vehicle over the line, piloting his cross country inspired vehicle to third outright.

The production class 7 was packed full of Suzuki’s, Nissans and Landcruisers, all of which put on an amazing show. Leaf sprung Suzuki Sierras were seen hucking off the jumps down the fast power line straight harder and higher then their many of their counterparts. Topping off a strong field, the offroad racers put in an amazing show for the crowd.

While quite a few cars returned with flat tyres, Wayne Panomarenko was one of the few DNF’s this morning after blowing the clutch in the #706 Hilux. Showing some great spirit the team has arranged for a clutch to be flown up from Perth this afternoon and will fit it overnight so they can start the main event tomorrow.

With Thursday’s scrutiny and CBD event wrapped up and Friday’s prologue in the bag, all entrants, officials and spectators have packed their gear up and headed east to Gascoyne Junction and the home of the Gas Dash for the next two days. Stay up to date with the 2013 Gascoyne Dash via http://www.gasdash.com/ or on the Facebook page www.facebook.com/pages/Gascoyne-Dash

The Gascoyne Dash is supported by the Western Australian Government, via Eventscorp, the Department of Regional Development and Lands, and Royalties for Regions.

Media contact: DirtComp Magazine, Randall Kilner – www.dirtcomp.com.au
To view images: www.facebook.com/dirtcomp

Thank Our Sponsors












Volunteers needed.

GORCC Online membership

Get the Latest News


Carnarvon Chamber of Commerce & Industry Inc

2010 and 2011 Business Awards

Best Community Organisation


Finalist 2010

2010 Shire of Carnarvon - WA Premier's Australia Day Award

Outstanding community contribution by a local group or community event