Text Bigger | Text Smaller



2016 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash

It is with great sorrow that the Gascoyne Off Road Racing Club wishes to inform you that due to low confirmed entries the 2016 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash will not be held as it is not economically viable.

This decision has not been made lightly, however it does give the committee the opportunity to reinvigorate the event.

All entry fees that have been paid will be reimbursed in full. Deb will be in touch to get your bank details and confirm the amounts paid.

Rest assured that this is not the end of the Gascoyne Dash and we will have exciting news for everyone in the near future.

The Gascoyne Off Road Racing Club would like to thank everyone for their support and we look forward to growing the relationship in the years to come.

The ADVENTURE continues!

Dust Settles after 2012 Dash

Posted on 09.11.2012


Queensland based off road racer Rod Faggotter made the long haul from Longreach well worth the effort with a hard fought win of the 2012 Kickstarters Gascoyne Dash®. Completing the entire race distance in a total time of 5 hours 1 minute and 29 seconds. Second placed rider Luke Clay from Karratha flew across the line only 1 minute and 24 seconds behind the Queenslander and local star and previous Gas Dash winner Warren Kempton a further three and a half minutes behind Luke to claim the final place on the podium and making this year one of the closest finishes in the event's history.

In the auto division it was the combination of Brad Cooper and Mal Yeardley in the #968 BAT/Mickey Thompson Pro Buggy that took the top prize in a collective time of 5 hours 29 minutes and 23 seconds. The son and father team of Brett and Kevin Renton in the #74 JIMCO Pro Buggy stopped their clock in 5 hours 52 minutes and 23 seconds to claim second. The third team to taste the champagne from the podium was the #408 Pro Truck driver and navigator pairing of David McShane and Craig Greentree with a time of 6 hours 19 minutes and 26 seconds, proving that a modern day 2 wheel-drive Truck can make it down the power sapping sand of the Gascoyne River.

Each year the race within the race -between car and bike - sets friendly rivalry amongst all competitors. 2012 will go down in the history books as a convincing victory for the two-wheelers.

The general comment from regular Gas Dash competitors was that this year was the roughest and toughest. "We've raced in places today where not even a goat has been before," shouted auto division victor Brad Cooper in a post-race interview. Proving again that this is Australia's most challenging of desert races.

2012 saw huge prize money including a $2000 grin to the winner of every division. Such an incentive kept the race intense for all that challenged. With outright auto winner Brad Cooper claiming the Pro Buggy division, it was David McShane and his team that took the cheque for the extreme 2WD division in his #408 Pro Truck. Brad Krepp and Scott Elder took advantage of their #823 Extreme 4WD by claiming not only a class win but a creditable 4th outright. Two Prolite buggy teams competed but were unable to complete the event due to mechanical issues. Super 1650 racer Rod Barton and Co Driver Garry Barton kept the dream alive for the smaller capacity open wheeled race cars by claiming top spot for their class.

Amongst the healthy field of Performance 4WD's it was the Pilbara based team of Mike Green and Phillip Melehan in the #790 Toyota Landcruiser who claimed the prize.

Class winners in the bike division were also enjoying the $2000 grin to each respective class. Rod Faggotter continued to fill his wallet with an obvious win in Class 2 along with outright podium partner Luke Clay who took the Class 3 money.

Kirk Williams kept all challengers at arm’s length to claim an emphatic victory in a strong quad division which included Matthew Sivwright in second and Richard Maxted in third. Rounding out the bike classes was  Peter Massey winning Class 1 from Cameron Mackie and Paul Burke.

The female competitor was won by Michelle Kearney riding a quad. Michelle finished 58th outright in the finishing field of 71 competitors.

As well as classes defined by cubic capacity, monies were exchanged to the Master, Veteran and Senior Classes. Jamie Chittick won the Masters class and local favourite Stephen Mitchell dominated the Senior division to claim the winner’s prize for that class. Veteran rider Todd Stewart's eleventh outright was enough to take out the Veteran division.

As the dust settled on the Carnarvon racecourse competitors, crews, officials, volunteers and race fans partied the night away with the world class entertainment provided by Gascoyne Off Road Racing committee. As the champions were crowned, thoughts were cast toward 2013 with plans to raise the bar higher, the intent to make the GASSY DASH Australia's richest Desert Race.

For full times and positioning go to www.gasdash.com and click on Results.

Thank Our Sponsors












Volunteers needed.

GORCC Online membership

Get the Latest News


Carnarvon Chamber of Commerce & Industry Inc

2010 and 2011 Business Awards

Best Community Organisation


Finalist 2010

2010 Shire of Carnarvon - WA Premier's Australia Day Award

Outstanding community contribution by a local group or community event